Town Council

August 10, 2020 - Regular Meeting - Minutes

Town of Farmerville Regular Meeting Minutes

The Farmerville Town Council met in regular session at Farmerville Town Hall, located at 407 South Main Street, Farmerville, Louisiana, on August 10, 2020. The council members present were Mayor M. Stein Baughman, Robert Allen, Thomas Nation, Caroline Gatson, Ricky Johnikin, and Jerry Taylor.

The roll was called and with a quorum present Mayor Baughman called the meeting to order. Invocation was offered by Alderman Johnikin.

As state law requires, Mayor Baughman offered the public the opportunity to voice their opinion on all agenda items at this time. There were no comments.

On motion by Taylor, seconded by Gatson and unanimously approved to approve the minutes from the July 13, 2020, regular meeting.

On motion by Taylor, seconded by Allen and unanimously approved to approve the payables from
July, 2020.

On motion by Gatson, seconded by Taylor and unanimously approved to accept the monthly revenue and expenditure report as presented.

On motion by Taylor, seconded by Allen and unanimously approved to have the attorney draw up an ordinance to declare four(4) acres of our industrial park located on Hwy 15 N as surplus property.

On motion by Gatson, seconded by Taylor and unanimously approved to adopt the millage rates for 2020 tax year.


BE IT RESOLVED, that the following millages are hereby levied on the 2020 tax roll on all property subject to taxation by Town of Farmerville:

General Alimony 8.800 mills
Fire Protection Facilities 7.900 mills

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the proper administrative officials of the Parish of Union, State of Louisiana, be and they are hereby empowered, authorized, and directed to spread said taxes, as hereinabove set forth, upon the assessment roll of said Parish for the year 2020, and to make the collection of the taxes imposed for and on behalf of the taxing authority, according to law, and that the taxes herein levied shall become a permanent lien and privilege on all property subject to taxation as herein set forth, and collection thereof shall be enforceable in the manner provided by law.

The foregoing resolution was read in full, the roll was called on the adoption thereof, and the resolution was adopted by the following votes:


At this time Alderman Johnikin requested that each council member compile a list of streets in their district that need to have speed limit signs installed.

At his time Julio Haulsy addressed the council concerning a kickball tournament that was held at the Betty Street Community Center. There were also several concerned citizens from the surrounding neighborhood here to voice their concerns pertaining to said kickball tournament.

There being no further business to come before the council this meeting was adjourned this the 13th day of July, 2020, by Mayor Baughman, upon motion by Gatson, seconded by Johnikin.

Gay Nell Pepper, Town Clerk
M. Stein Baughman, Jr., Mayor

<< back

Physical Address:

407 South Main Street
Farmerville, LA 71241

Mailing Address:

Town of Farmerville
P.O. Box 427
Farmerville, LA 71241-0427

Contact Us:

(318)368-7142 (fax)

Seal of Farmerville

All rights reserved Copyright 2020 Town of Farmerville | Designed by NMY